top of page
Search

Founding Families

Updated: Aug 13

As we observe the 250th anniversary of our nation's founding, we should also celebrate the miracle of its early history, its transformation from 13 loosely connected colonies into a nascent republic into a unified, growing country ready to take its place on the world stage. This transformation is reflected in the stories of three families whose names are embedded in our local history: Lawrence, Lewis, and Willets. Although the scale and nature of their contributions differed widely, each of these families left a lasting mark on our corner of Queens. They did not simply settle here, but unsettled the land, marking boundaries and staking their futures on the shifting borders of empire and ambition.


Our Story Begins: The Lawrence Family


John and William Lawrence were among the earliest English settlers of our area. The brothers arrived in Plymouth Colony in 1635, on board the ship Planter. They eventually moved on to Long Island, where, in 1645, they became two of the original signers of the Flushing Charter, also known as the Patent of Flushing. This document, issued by Director-General Willem Kieft of the New Netherland colony, granted this group of mostly English settlers the right to form the town of Vlissingen (now Flushing) on the western end of Long Island.


While both brothers remained in New Netherland, they contributed to the region's growth in different ways. John Lawrence served as town clerk of Flushing for many years. Around 1658, he moved to New Amsterdam. After the city was ceded to the British, he became one of the first aldermen of New York City, was appointed mayor in 1672 and again in 1691, and went on to serve as a justice of the provincial supreme court.


The historic residence of the Lawrence family, which one stood in Bayside, NY
This was the residence of the Lawrence family for 292 years. It originally stood east of the intersection of 221st Street and 41st Avenue in Bayside, NY.

John's brother William became one of the most prominent landowners in Flushing and held a number of important civil offices under both the Dutch and English governments. His estate was in Tew's Neck, today’s College Point. The Lawrence name remains woven into both local and national history, a reminder of their role in our countrys development.


A Revolutionary Legacy: The Lewis Family


Francis Lewis was born in Wales in 1713 and educated in England before beginning a career as a merchant. He came to New York around 1735, where he became active in international trade. While working as a mercantile agent during the French and Indian War, Lewis was captured by the British and spent seven years as a prisoner. Upon his return to New York, he rebuilt his business. In 1765, he retired, established his estate in Whitestone, and turned his attention to politics.


In 1775, Lewis represented New York in the Second Continental Congress. The following year, he became one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. In 1778, he became one of 16 signers of the Declaration to also sign the Articles of Confederation, giving shape to the new nation's government. His is the story of the birth of the republic, spanning alienation from Britain, revolutionary fervor, the tumult of war, and the foundations of a new country.


Shaping the Shore: The Willets Family


The Willets family's influence in Bayside dates back to the early 19th century, a time of growth for the young republic. In 1829, Charles Willets, one of the first nurserymen in the area, purchased a stretch of land then known as Thornes Neck, a peninsula extending into Little Neck Bay. He renamed the property Willets Point, a name that remains part of New York City’s landscape today.


Over the following decades, the property became closely associated with the Willets family as the surrounding area continued to develop. In 1853, Robert Willets (relationship to Charles unclear) built Shore Acres, a grand waterfront estate overlooking Little Neck Bay.


The historic Shore Acres mansion, built by Robert Willets in 1853, which one stood in Bayside, NY
Known as Shore Acres, this mansion was built by Robert Willets in 1853 on what is now approximately 18th Avenue and Bell Boulevard.

The Willets family remained closely connected to the peninsula during a period of change in northeastern Queens. In 1857, part of the property was sold to the federal government, which developed the site into Fort Totten, originally known as the Fort at Willets Point. In some ways, the beautiful grounds of Fort Totten Park that we enjoy today, forever protected from further development, can be seen as Willets’ unintended legacy to our neighborhood.


As the United States marks its 250th anniversary, looking back at these local stories reminds us that Northeast Queens is connected to the larger story of America.

Comments


bottom of page