Changing exhibits and long-term installations cultivate interest in the history and culture of northeast Queens. Many materials used are culled from the archival collection, and encourage conversation and inquiry.
From the Archives: Bayside Yacht Club
Now showing on the first floor
The first installment of Bayside Historical Society's latest exhibit series, “From the Archives,” showcases documents, artifacts, photographs, and other archival materials from the Bayside Yacht Club collection. The exhibit is open to the public and will be on view during regular open hours: Thursdays and Fridays 10:00am to 4:00pm, and Saturdays 12:00pm to 4:00 pm.
Now showing on the second floor
Native Bayside chronicles the prehistory of Bayside and the Northeast through artifacts recovered from an archaeological site in Queens and a model of the site excavation. The culmination of 35 years of work by archaeologist Edward J. Platt and the New York Institute of Anthropology, the Bayside site is the oldest carbon-14 dated continually inhabited site in coastal New York State.
Currently in transition
The exhibit explores the origins of the Castle from its design in the mid-19th century by the Army Corps of Engineers to its use as the original School of Application in 1887 to its reinterpretation as a cultural venue by BHS beginning in the 1980s. Before and after photos detail the enormous task of restoring this Victorian era jewel.